Uncategorized

Getting settled…

It’s been kind of quiet on the blog lately, my apologies.  We’ve been busy getting settled back in the USA and I’ve also started working again…with a 2 1/2 hour commute, each way, to boot.  So, needless to say, I’ve been lacking on the free time to do much knitting.  I take all three major forms of transportation that the NY Metropolitan Transit Authority offers: the train, the bus, and the subway. I have about an hour and a half on the train alone and, now that I’ve figured out where I need to stand on the platform in order to find a car with open seats, I hope to bring some knitting with me!

gettingsettled1

I did manage to eke out a few minutes of time on Sunday morning before heading out to Easter activities to knit a few rows on a new shawl I’ve started to distract myself from the failures of the pleat on my Watson cardigan (I’ve wisely decided to set Watson aside until I have enough energy and brain capacity to rip back a row or two and attempt the pleat again).  This is the fourth Romney Kerchief that I’ve knit… more details to come as I finish it up!

gettingsettled2

I also had the pleasure of baking at sea level for the first time in 14 months this weekend.   And it was soooo wonderful.  I added all the ingredients together for double chocolate brownies just as the recipe said, and they turned out perfectly.  Such a nice change of pace after never knowing how things would bake at 10,000 feet above sea level in Huancayo, Peru.! I see much baking in my future.

What do you do to find time in your busy lives for knitting?  Any tips from others who knit during their commutes?

2 thoughts on “Getting settled…

  1. I find that socks make the best commuting projects. (Well, when you do one at a time). I’ve done enough of them, I don’t have to think too much, they are compact and don’t require you to have a lot of space to move around, and the rows are also fairly short so you don’t usually end up debating whether you have enough time to start another row before its time to get off the train/bus/subway. I miss the days when I commuted by light rail and could put on an audio book and knit away!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the advice! I think I need to get my hands on some sock yarn. Almost everything I picked up in Peru was DK or worsted weight!

      Like

Leave a Reply

