FO

FO: Romney Kerchief

foromneykerchief6

I’m so happy with how this shawl turned out! This is my fourth Romney Kerchief, one of the early patterns released by Jared Flood at Brooklyn Tweed.  I picked the pattern up when I was a beginning knitter and was a little intimidated by the shape (aka not a rectangle!), but the lovely ladies at Churchmouse Yarns on Bainbridge Island, WA convinced me that I could do it.  And I did it!  Again, and again, and, well, again.  🙂

I used natural wool that I purchased while we were visiting Chiloé.  Chiloé is a lovely place, the biggest island of an archipelago that stretches along the southern coast of the country.  It’s home to delicious seafood, lots of grazing sheep, and, most excitingly, penguins!!  You can read all about our trip there and see lots of photos of the beautiful landscape on my other blog.

This yarn is like none that I’ve seen before.  It is a natural, cream-colored wool in a worsted/aran weight, with a strand of brown-colored lace weight wool yarn wrapped around it.  When it’s knit up, it looks like a light marl.  I love it.  I’ve been seeing a lot of marl projects on knitting blogs lately.  The always fabulous Karen Templer at Fringe Association came up with a work-around method to get a marl look by holding one strand of cream and another of charcoal together to make a chunky infinity scarf.  The yarn that I used gives a similar effect, with a little less effort!

I didn’t make any alterations to the pattern, I just continued knitting repeat after repeat until I ran out of yarn.  It’s nice and big and chunky, and I would have made it even bigger if my yarn yardage had allowed!  I wish it had a bit more drape to it, but the chunky Chilean wool will certainly keep a girl warm on a chilly day.  I am actually kind of glad that it’s still quite chilly here in the mornings and evenings now, especially since we’re temporarily at my in-laws’ house on the beach where the wind can pick up pretty strong.  I hope that I can get a little use out of it before the weather warms up for good!

4 thoughts on “FO: Romney Kerchief

Leave a Reply

