FO

FO: L’Arbre hat

folarbrehat2

I’ve been wanting so badly to join in a knitalong ever since the knitting bug really bit me. Alas, I was far away up in the Peruvian Andes for the past year and often couldn’t access all the necessary tools or the right type of yarn to participate. Now we’re back Stateside and able to access all the things I’ve been missing before, so I excitedly jumped on the Fringe Association bandwagon for their latest hatalong“–the L’Arbre hat by Cirilia Rose!

I am so happy with how this hat turned out. I mean, look at the awesome texture created by the” little tree” pattern. Such a clever technique using really basic stitches. It took me just a week of knitting on the train during my long commute into NYC to finish it up.

I also love the yarn that I used. I came home with 40 skeins of DK-weight baby alpaca yarn from Michell, as I mentioned in my Peru Yarn Love post. The yarn is so soft and dreamy, and it has surprisingly decent stitch definition to boot! The light gray will go with the majority of my winter wardrobe. I do love mixing and matching colors and designs in my winter accessories and this hat will be the perfect neutral piece to bring it all together.

I held the yarn double to get to the pattern’s suggested yarn weight of heavy worsted, which got me pretty close to gauge with the recommended needle size (US 8). I used a method that Karen Templer recommended to her knitalong-ers to knit up my gauge swatch in the round. Check out this tutorial by Ysolda Teague. Always a bonus to learn something new from a pattern!

I really enjoyed being part of this knitalong. It is so fun to see others’ projects progress on Instagram and to see all the different yarns that people are using. It’s been said over and over again, but this knitting community, especially the virtual one, is so supportive, positive, and encouraging. I think I’m officially on board with this whole knitalong thing! Can’t wait for the next #fringehatalong!

One thought on “FO: L’Arbre hat

Leave a Reply

