WIP

WIP Wednesday: Show-off stranded socks

showoffstrandedsock

Confession: I’ve never really been into knitting socks.  I know that there are a lot of people out there who love to keep a pair of socks on the needles, taking the socks along in their purse to whip out and knit while they have a little down time in between errands or whenever they get a little bit of time to themselves.  I’ve never been that person.  Sure, I’ve tried knitting a few different patterns.  I tried a really simple sock pattern, a slightly more conceptual sock designed by the well-loved Cat Bordhi, and now I’m on my third try with the Show-off Stranded Sock pattern (available for free on Ravelry).  But each and every time I have finished a sock there’s just something off with it.  The sock stretches out over time and slides off.  The heel fits funny.  The variegated yarn has a weird pooling effect.

I just finished the first sock in this latest pair and the size seems to be okay, the heel fits okay, the stitch pattern has really brought out the variegation in the yarn (btw, shout-out to Madelinetosh, this sock yarn is wonderful in texture and color!), but… the toes are weird.  The fabric bunches up under my toes and just feels odd.  This may change over time with blocking and wear, but I feel a little let down.  After all of those thousands of tiny, tiny stitches, to find out that the finished product is just kind of blah is very disappointing.  Sure, I’ll finish the second sock, because I’m not one not to see a project through to the end, but I have a feeling that these socks will not see a lot of use by me.  Maybe I can think of someone with similar sized feet who would enjoy them more…

Which camp are you in: avid sock knitter or not?  Do you have an absolutely fabulous sock pattern that you swear by?

4 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday: Show-off stranded socks

  1. I am with you! I’ve knit lots of things, and I consider myself fairly advanced, but socks have not made it off my needles (completed, at least!). Until recently, I had zero desire to knit them, but I think I’ve caught a sock knitting bug, and I want to knit some so badly! Just need to get some fingering yarn first. But, I’ve got so many other things that need doing, I’m trying to have self control, lol. I recently wrote a post about how I was intimidated by them: http://nightowlknitncrochet.com/2015/05/12/intimidation-socks/ Your sock looks great, by the way!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I hope you can cast on some socks soon! I also have little desire to knit socks, but they do make good knitting for my commute by train. I’m intrigued by the two at a time magic loop method for socks… might be a good way to get them done faster and make sure that I don’t give up before getting around to the second sock!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. When I designed these socks, I was still in the “intimidated by Kitchener” camp, so I did all my socks with some variation on a swirl toe. Since I have found Techknitter’s method of Kitchenering on knitting needles rather than using a yarn needle, I have switched to the much more common method of making a toe by decreasing on the sides every other row for a few rounds then every row for about the same number, ending up with 6-8 stitches to Kitchener. These toes fit me much better. If you like the rest of the sock, consider switching to this toe to see what you think. (My own method would be to make the second sock with this toe, then if I liked it go back and change the other one.) Once you get something that works for you, you may find that you grow to love them.

    Like

    1. That’s great advice! I will definitely try that method on the second sock and let you know how it turns out. Thanks so much!

      P.S. I really like the way the rest of the sock turned out!

      Like

Leave a Reply

