Uncategorized

Yarn souvenirs

seattle2015

As I mentioned in my last post (which sadly was nearly a month ago!), it’s been a busy summer so far.  We’re still unpacking after our recent move, and also just spent 10 wonderful days visiting my family in the Seattle area.  All of this hustle and bustle has left little time for knitting, except for small snippets here and there that have been reserved for precious baby knits for the little ones my friends and family have been or will be welcoming into the world.  Between May and November this year, I will have knit up seven sets of newborn hats and booties.  And only one of those seven is a pair of twins!  Baby season is officially on.

Anywho…while in the Pacific Northwest, I did have the chance to hit up some lovely knitting shops and purchase much more yarn that I needed to, but just had to have.  It counts as a souvenir, right?!

yarnshops
Photographic evidence of the damage done at the local yarn shops!

Our trip just happened to coincide with our anniversary, and my husband and I took a day trip out to the Olympic Peninsula to check out the Port Townsend area (so beautiful!) and I happened upon the lovely Bazaar Girls while wandering the cute little main street.  I picked up a skein of locally sourced wool yarn that was hand dyed with madder root by Local Color Fiber Studio.  I’ve been following them on Instagram for awhile now, and it’s so cool to be holding a product that they produced!  I think it will knit up into another cute newborn set for one of those expectant mothers I mentioned earlier.

On our way back from Port Townsend, we stopped at my favorite shop, Churchmouse Yarns, out on Bainbridge Island.  It just so happens that it’s only a few minutes away from where we got married at Kiana Lodge.  I had been thinking long and hard about knitting up a linen top before the summer runs out on us, and picked up some Louet linen yarn to knit up the Saco Stripes top by Pam Allen.  I know I already said it, but I just love the Churchmouse shop.  The staff are so friendly and helpful.  The displays and samples are inspiring.  I wish I lived closer so I could drop by for a class or something!

My last yarn shop stop in the area was to Tolt Yarn and Wool.  I have been following the shop since it opened and had been dying to visit in person.  It did not disappoint.  The display shelves are just as wonderful as the yarn they stock.  I must have walked around the shop two or three times, just touching all the different yarns on offer.  I finally decided on some Quince & Co. yarn to make a Linden pillow cover from their Home collection to spruce up our new place a bit.  I absolutely cannot wait to cast on for the that, but, alas, the summer garments must come first!  My Saco Stripes top is already on the needles and I have set a goal to get it done before Labor Day so I can get in at least one wear before fall descends.

Do you also make sure your trip itinerary includes stops at local yarn shops? 

3 thoughts on “Yarn souvenirs

Leave a Reply

