FO

FO Friday: Hermaness Worsted

hermanessworsted

I am finally, finally, finally getting around to showing you this lovely finished beauty.  I joined in the Fringe Association’s third “hatalong” back in June for the Hermaness Worsted pattern by Gudrun Johnston.  I shared some photos of my progress along the way on Instagram (and which Karen shared on her blog in a roundup post about the hatalong–thanks, Karen!), but between the move and summer travels and everything, I just hadn’t been able to sit down and get some finished object photos.

I love the lace detail and texture on this hat.  I used locally sourced and handdyed wool yarn by Tale Spun Yarns in the Spiceberry colorway that I picked up during our roadtrip along the Blue Ridge Parkway.  I held the fingering weight yarn double and went down a needle size to get the right gauge.  I think the yarn worked perfectly with this pattern, giving the finished hat a slightly rustic look.  I can’t wait to wear this hat in the coming winter months!

I am also eagerly awaiting the announcement of the next hatalong pattern, which Karen posted a brief sneak peek about on her blog yesterday.  I am so excited to try out color work for the first time.  Now to dig through the yarn stash and find some worsted weight yarns…oh goody!

Leave a Reply

