WIP

WIPs Wednesday: All the projects!

WIPsWed

I’m usually a one-project-at-a-time kinda gal. But lately I find myself with multiple WIPs around the house and in my commuting tote bag.  I think it may have something to do with the fact that I have a huge stash now (thanks again, Peru and Chile for the awesome yarn!) and feel some sort of insane pressure to knit it all up immediately.

Before living in Latin America, I wasn’t a stasher.  We didn’t have a ton of space in our tiny city apartment and so I was very thoughtful about selecting a pattern and picking out yarn just for that project, one project at a time.  Now, with all this yarn and a long commute, I find myself with at least one small, tote bag-sized project and a larger project at home.  And right now it’s actually one commuting project and two larger projects at home.  The commuting project is the Audrey hat from the first Fringe Hatalong (just needs to have the ends woven in and some blocking before it’s ready!).  The two larger projects are the Linden Pillow from the Quince & Co. Home collection that I’ve been working on for a few weeks, and the Watson Cardigan that has been hibernating for a few months while it was too hot for a lap full of yummy alpaca yarn.  (And I didn’t realize until I saw photos of all the WIPs together, but I guess I have a thing for blue right now….!)

I love how these projects keep me busy and entertain me at different parts of the day when I’m in different moods: something easy for the train, something meditative for weekday evenings (oh all that reverse stockinette on the pillow cover, purl stitches for days!), and something more challenging when I have the head space to focus.

How many WIPs do you usually having going at once?  What’s your strategy for balancing them all?

3 thoughts on “WIPs Wednesday: All the projects!

Leave a Reply

