WIP

WIP Wednesday: Watson cardigan for Rhinebeck

image

It’s full speed ahead on my Watson cardigan! It is the last of the three WIPs I had on the needles the last time I blogged (the Audrey hat was finished and blogged about here and the Linden pillow cover is awaiting blocking and buttons).  I am desperately trying to finish Watson in time for the NY Sheep and Wool Festival in Rhinebeck this coming weekend. It’s become kind of a tradition among knitters to wear a newly knit fall or winter item (usually a sweater) to the festival. These “Rhinebeck sweaters” seem to be a point of pride amongst the attendees and, seeing as this is my first time to Rhinebeck, I thought I’d better try to hop on board!

I finished up the first sleeve of the cardigan over the weekend and now I’m plowing forward on the second. I can only knit about 20ish rows per evening after the long commute home from work, so there’s a good chance I won’t be able to finish the sleeve, join the shawl collar together at the back of the neck, and block and weave in ends before Saturday, but I’m not giving up hope yet (…and I already have a backup hand knit item waiting in the wings just in case). Now to figure out how to fit more knitting hours into the day!

Are you attending the festival this weekend? Are you also furiously working to finish your Rhinebeck sweater (or did you plan better than I did)? 

7 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday: Watson cardigan for Rhinebeck

  1. I didn’t know about the unspoken Rhinebeck rule but it sure makes sense. And, it was fun to read about Rhinebeck here on WordPress! Thinking about heading there next year.

    Like

  2. Your sweater is beautiful! Love the color and the detail on the front. Looks like a lot of work. I finally finished my cowl with the vertical striping. Once I figured out about reading the graph I did fine. Knitting a pair of socks with Cat Bordhi’s Sweet Tomato Heel which I love doing. Makes heels so easy.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Sharon! I finished it last week and have already worn it twice. So soft and warm! I hope to share some photos of the finished garment soon!

      I’d love to see how your cowl turned out. I haven’t tried vertical striping yet!

      Like

Leave a Reply

