WIP

WIP Wednesday: A pair of pillow covers

pillowcovers

I’m currently soaking up a relaxing week off between jobs.  It’s been so nice to be able to wake up, do some yoga, then pick up some knitting with my morning cup of coffee.  Just what I needed to decompress and get rested up before starting my new gig next week.

During this break I’ve finished up my Linden pillow cover (minus finishing) and moved on to the Alder pillow cover, also from the Quince & Co. Home collection.  I wanted to make a pair of pillow covers to spruce up our sofa, and I think the leaf pattern from Linden and the branch pattern from Alder make a very nice and complementary set.  The Alder pattern is written for a larger pillow form, so I’ve modified it to fit the same 18-inch form size as the Linden.  I cast on the same number of stitches in the same weight of yarn and using the same needle size as for the Linden.  I chose to knit it in the round instead of separate panels like the original Alder pattern called for, so I had to rework the branch charts in my trusty knitting notebook.

I love the way the Alder is knitting up so far and I am also so happy that I chose such a cheery color for the second cover; it will really pop and brighten up the space. I’ve used Quince & Co.’s Lark yarn for both covers, both purchased as souvenirs during our summer travels.  The blue colorway, Fjord, was picked up at the lovely Tolt Yarn and Wool in Carnation, WA; and the orange colorway, Poppy, was purchased at the adorable Knit Wit in Portland, Maine (pictured top right at our campsite on Hermit’s Island during our Maine trip).

In other WIP news, I’ve been scheming about a little series of blog posts that I hope to get started on this week.  I’m very excited about it and I hope you guys will like it, too!  So, watch this space.  🙂

3 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday: A pair of pillow covers

  1. It sounds like you’re having such a great break! I love those pillow covers-I’m planning on redoing my bedroom and getting a ton of pillows, and I’m definitely getting some fun ideas here 🙂 Enjoy the rest of your week off!

    Like

Leave a Reply

