FO

A cozy cowl

forestcowl

A cozy cowl is just what the doctor ordered as winter slowly creeps up on us. The mercury dipped to 36 this morning as I waited on the platform for the train into the city.  Brrr.  Definitely time to break out the down jacket and the hand-knit accessories.

This is the Forest Cowl by Carrie Hoge, and it’s just like a warm wooly hug around the neck.  I chose a lush, green, rustic yarn for this pattern. I think that my yarn choice was subconsciously inspired by the name of the pattern. When I think of a forest, I think of the evergreen forests from my childhood in the Pacific Northwest with lots of deep green pine needles and rough bark. The tweedy-hued yarn is Mewesic by Green Mountain Spinnery, a 100% wool yarn. I saw it at their booth at Rhinebeck last month and I just knew it was going to become this cowl. I held the DK weight yarn double to approximate the Aran weight called for in the pattern and it worked perfectly. It’s not the softest yarn out there, but I love the stitch definition and warmth it gives to the finished product.

The pattern is clearly written and worked up surprisingly fast (in just one weekend!). I love the large cables running through it. They give the piece such great texture. I’m looking forward to having a stylish and cozy neck this winter. 😊

One thought on “A cozy cowl

Leave a Reply

