FO

FO: Seathwaite hat

seathwaite2

The 5th and most delicious fringehatalong yet–the Seathwaite hat! I am so stoked about how this hat turned out. I couldn’t even wait to block it before putting it into the regular wintertime accessory rotation. I mean, look at those cables!

I used one of the suggested substitution yarns–Heirloom Romney by Fancy Tiger Crafts. I had picked up a skein in the colorway Well Water on a whim while visiting Portland, Oregon this past summer and it had been sitting in my stash just waiting for the right project to come along. And, boy, was this a match made in heaven. The halo on the yarn gives the finished piece a lovely sheen, and the Romney wool is super warm and perfect for a cozy winter hat. It is a tad bit itchy, but if I wear my hair down it doesn’t bother me so much. And I’m willing to endure a little scratchy for the beauty that is this hat.

seathwaite1

This was my first time working a pattern entirely from charts and I have to admit that I was a little intimidated to start. I usually read a pattern’s chart through and write out the corresponding instructions by hand, but this time I decided to just jump right in and see what happened. I think the smaller scale of the hat made the endeavor a little less intimidating to me. I’m so glad I gave it a try because it worked out great and now I’ve built up my confidence to work directly from charts on larger projects. It kind of felt like when you’re learning how to read music and you have to slowly plod through and think to yourself that the little dot on that line means G and then you play the note, but eventually your brain stops having to work so hard and your hands just magically know what to do. How fun to have gained another knitting skill as a result of this project.

I have quite a nice little collection of hats now thanks to the fringehatalong, as evidenced in the above photo. Most are for gifting this holiday season (crossing fingers that the recipients don’t read my blog!), but this Seathwaite I’m keeping for myself, tee hee! Kudos again to Karen Templer of Fringe Association for hosting this wonderful hatalong series, and thanks to Kate Gagnon Osborn for the lovely pattern.

2 thoughts on “FO: Seathwaite hat

Leave a Reply

