Uncategorized

Year in review 

2015review

Hard to believe that it’s already 2016. I know we always say it, how the past year went by so quickly, but it feels particularly true to me this year.  It’s been a busy one, full of big changes for us.  We moved four times this year: one international move from Peru to the US, and then three moves across state lines within the US.  And, after nearly a decade, I made the switch from international to domestic public health work, with all that entails in terms of networking, finding a new job, adjusting to new surroundings, and learning new subject matter.

My constant through all of it has been knitting. I read or heard somewhere recently that knitting is similar to walking in that you’re using both sides of your body in a repetitive fashion and it has a calming effect on your body. I feel that that description is spot on. And I believe that my productivity on the knitting front is particularly tied to the many changes we experienced over the past year. Sitting down and taking the time to breath and knit has helped me process all the change and calm my nerves.  As a result, I’ve made a sweater, a cardigan, a tank top, 6 hats, 7 sets of newborn hats and booties, a cowl, a pair of pillow cases, and a handful of Christmas gifts, and more. I feel so lucky to have found a hobby that I’m so passionate about. One that allows me to explore my creative side, while also providing a deep sense of relaxation and peace. I really hope that 2016 is quieter in terms of life changes, but I know that knitting will remain a constant companion even if things are a little more calm.

This weekend I’m taking some time to reflect and recharge for the year ahead.  I am also whittling down my list of goals and honing in on what I really wish to accomplish.  We’re lucky enough to be spending the weekend on the beach, where I plan to walk every day as I think things over and take in the shifting sun and clouds and the light bouncing off the water.

Wishing you and yours a peaceful and prosperous New Year!

2 thoughts on “Year in review 

  1. Happy New Year.
    Your experience of knitting makes me want to give it a try. Yarn is quite expensive though for my wallet for the moment but maybe in a while.

    Like

    1. Happy New Year to you too! I wish we lived closer so that I could teach you how to knit! I know what you mean about the yarn being expensive though. The alpaca yarn was so much cheaper in Peru (like $3/skein compared to $15+ here in the US), so I brought a whole bunch home with me and have been using mostly that for the past year!

      Like

Leave a Reply

