WIP

WIP Wednesday: The blooming of a cardigan

featherweightIt’s been awhile since I’ve posted a WIP Wednesday post, but this little cardigan is just too sweet not to share!  The pattern is the super popular Featherweight by Hannah Fetig of Knitbot.  I’ve been seeing this cardigan for years and always wanted to make it, so when Hannah announced a sale on her patterns to celebrate the 16,000th copy of the pattern being sold I immediately hopped to and bought myself a copy!

I knew I wanted to knit it up using one of the recommended yarns–Quince & Co.’s Tern.  It’s a fingering weight blend of wool and silk and it feels just as smooth and soft as you imagine a blend like that would be.  I wanted to see the colors in person before purchasing, so I waited until my recent trip out to Seattle to visit my family and made a little trek out to the lovely Tolt Yarn & Wool, which stocks Quine & Co. yarns.  I am so glad that I did!  After my recent success with making the Lila in a neutral gray that goes with just about everything, I thought I wanted another neutral garment. But this pink hue, called Columbine, just leaped out at me when I saw it sitting there on the shelf and I knew it was for me.  It reminds me of the cherry blossoms and tulips that will start blooming very soon!

This cardigan is working up like a dream.  It’s my first ever top-down sweater and I don’t know what I was waiting for to try making one this way.  It’s been so easy and I love how you can try it on as you go!  My gauge was a little bit bigger than what’s called for in the pattern, so I’m making a size down and hoping that the finished product fits nicely with just a bit of ease (see full notes on my Ravelry project page).  I know it looks a little bit small for me in the photo, but eventually you pick up stitches along the front edge and knit a collar for a couple of inches, so I think it’ll be fine.  I really hope I can keep up a quick pace on this sweet little cardy, because I’m definitely ready to put it on the second spring comes to town!

What are you working on this week?  Are you as ready for spring as I am?

2 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday: The blooming of a cardigan

  1. That color is incredible! I’m knitting a Hannah Fettig pattern as well. Her Autumnal Cardigan and I love it! I’m going to have to try out more of her patterns when I’m finished.

    Like

Leave a Reply

