Uncategorized

Little linen dress

cleansimplebabydress6

I may be getting a bit ahead of myself with my latest knit for baby girl (seeing as how she won’t arrive until November-ish and won’t actually be able to wear this until next summer), but isn’t it just too cute?!

I am so happy with how this dress turned out.  It’s simple with just enough detail to keep it interesting.  And it cost me $0 to make!  The pattern was free, the yarn came from my stash, and the sweet, vintage heart buttons came from grandma’s stash.  Score!

cleansimplebabydress5

The pattern is Clean + Simple Baby Dress from Purl Soho.  It calls for a sport weight cotton yarn, but I opted to use up some Euroflax linen yarn from my stash.  Coincidentally, it’s the same color combo I used for my Saco Stripes tank two summers ago, so me and baby girl could actually be matchy-matchy one day next summer.  🙂  I love linen yarn.  I mean, who doesn’t love a yarn that can go into the washing machine…especially when there’s going to be a drooly, messy baby wearing the dress?

cleansimplebabydress2

I was a bad knitter and didn’t make a gauge swatch for this one, but I felt like I knew pretty well how I would knit with the yarn already given my experience with the Saco Stripes tank.  I knew my knitting would be a little looser than the gauge called for in the pattern, so I cast on for the 0-6 months size for the top of the dress to make sure the shoulders and neck wouldn’t be too wide and eventually ended up following the increase instructions up to the 6-12 months size so that the dress would definitely be large enough around the middle for baby girl to wear next summer when she’s 7-9 months old. My finished blocked measurements came out exactly the same as the 6-12 month size overall, so I must’ve done something right!

I found the pattern to be a little finicky at times. I actually had to restart the dress three times before I finally got the hang of it.  I don’t really have any great tips for others thinking to try this pattern, except exercise lots of patience, read the instructions thoroughly, and don’t be afraid to rip back and start again!  You will get there, trust me.  And I’m pretty sure you’ll like the results like I am!

 

 

Save

3 thoughts on “Little linen dress

Leave a Reply

